So how do I get ready for a marathon? I started by typing “marathon training” into Google and quickly scanned the results. Near the top was something called Hal Higdon’s MARATHON TRAINING GUIDE. Well he has an interesting name anyway and I’m a sucker for alliteration so I clicked the link.

It turns out he helps people train for the Chicago Marathon which immediately intrigued me. He has an 18-week novice program that seems like it will fit my needs quite well:

PEOPLE DIFFER GREATLY IN ABILITY, but ideally before starting a marathon program, you should have been running about a year. You should be able to comfortably run distances between 3 and 6 miles. You should be training 3-5 days a week, averaging 15-25 miles a week. You should have run an occasional 5-K or 10-K race.

Ok. I can do that. I have plenty of time to get myself up to that point. Plus take a look at this guy.

Surely if he can run a marathon then I should be able to at age 40. This guy’s already got one foot in the grave.

So bite me Hal Higdon. I’m coming after you.

