So I’m 38 years old. On August 7, 2008 I’m going to turn 40 and I’ve decided I’d like to finish the Chicago Marathon which takes place two months later. This is my way of keeping track of what I’m doing and remaining motivated.

Right now I’m not running at all and I weigh too much. Here are my vital stats:

  • Height: 6’6″
  • Weight: 243.5 lbs. My all-time high for my weight was 252.25 lbs.
  • Body Mass Index (BMI): 28.1 This puts me in the “Overweight” category. “Normal weight” is less than 25.0 which equates to about 215 lbs for me.
  • Taking Metoprolol for high blood pressure and I really want to be able to stop this.

Obviously I need to lose weight and I think I really need to lose a bit before I start running to make things easier on my joints and knees. Fortunately I’ve not had any problems in that area before.

My upcoming purchase is the Schwinn 213 Recumbent Exercise Bicycle.

My new bike

I figure that by using this religiously and eating better I can drop a good 20 pounds or so by this spring and it will have my heart in better condition for the running I’ll be doing. My bike should arrive after Christmas.

We’ll see how this turns out. It should be an interesting 22 months.

