There’s a book I’m reading now that I really like. It’s called Velvet Elvis by Rob Bell. It’s got me thinking about things and that usually means I’m going to be writing about it as well.

I ran into Rob Bell when our pastor was out for a Sunday and, instead of the sermon, they played a video by Rob Bell. I was very impressed by the presentation and message and he seemed to have a very straightforward, thoughtful was of making complex issues clear. I immediately went home and ordered his first book from Amazon.

He has a section on questions that I found refreshing:

A question by its very nature acknowledges that the person asking the question does not have all the answers. And because the person does not have all of the answers, they are looking outside themselves for guidance.

Questions, no matter how shocking or blasphemous or arrogant or ignorant or raw, are rooted in humility. A humility that understands that I am not God. And there is more to know.

Questions bring freedom. Freedom that I don’t have to be God and I don’t have to pretend that I have it all figured out. I can let God be God.

Talk about hitting the nail on the head.  I have had conversations with Christians where they open up the Answer Box and start rattling off the bullet points and I get this creepy, “I need to escape now” feeling.  I really don’t want to be that sort of person.  I want to be open with the fact that I don’t know everything.  Once I gave up on fundamentalism I did feel free.  Free to say I don’t know all the answers and I don’t need to know all the answers.  Free to start asking some questions and have that be okay and not an embarrassing revelation of weak faith.

