I twiddled a bit with the Epilogue to Lunar 2 and I think I’m going to pass for now. My initial impression was that it involved a lot of grinding and fetch quests and a glance at a FAQ from GameFAQs backed that up. It recommends being at least level 56 or 57 to do some of the dungeons necessary to finish the Epilogue so I’m looking at 4 or 5 levels of grinding at least to get ready for them. While I liked the game, I’m not prepared right now to do a lot of grinding just to see the “good” ending.

So I’m going to wrap up Lunar 2 and work on my review. I hope to have it up in the next couple of days.

Then I got to thinking about what I would play next and I remembered that I had a Vandal Hearts game in progress from a year or two ago. I loaded that up and messed with it for an hour or so and realized I’m going to have some problems with the strategy RPG’s on my Hit List. First, I really don’t play strategy RPG’s for the story much so that would make writing a narrative pretty boring. I’m afraid it would be a lot of “Then I moved Captain Awesome two spaces forward on the grid and struck Cannon Fodder #4 with my sword and reduced his HP down to 14 and then…” Sounds dreadful.

The other thing is some of these games seem like they haven’t aged very well. Vandal Hearts in particular seems pretty far behind current SRPG’s like Jeanne D’Arc  The traditional RPG’s like Lunar and Grandia and Final Fantasy 7 have aged a lot better, at least where my tastes are concerned. If I keep them on my list I can see them not being a lot of fun to play and me getting frustrated with them.

So I’m going to nuke the strategy RPG’s from my list with a couple of exceptions. I think I have to play Final Fantasy Tactics as it’s consistently referred to as one of the best. I actually bought the PSP remake so I will probably play that, though it will make screenshots pretty much impossible. I also want to play Front Mission 3 as a mecha-based SRPG sounds cool and I actually played it for a couple of hours when it first came out and liked it a lot. And I really want to play Tactics Ogre but I can’t seem to find it at my usual pawn shops or garage sales. Ebay is always an option but it’s currently going for anywhere from $60 – $160 and I just can’t see me paying that. It may be a game I have to acquire from the shadier side of the internet which I don’t like but I think is one of the only sane options left.

So we’ll see what my next game will be. At this point, it’s a toss-up between Persona and Arc the Lad 2.

