I had originally thought I might play Persona next but after playing around with it for an hour or so I can tell it’s not for me. First, my copy doesn’t come with a manual and it seems like the sort of game where a manual would be helpful. Second I can’t get used to the movement system: pushing down on the d-pad makes your character move down and to the right, push right and he moves up and to the right. It drove me crazy. And last, it just seems pretty crudely done and unpolished. Supposedly Persona 2 is much better so I’m shelving Persona 1 in favor of Arc the Lad II.

The first Arc the Lad game just didn’t grab me. I found it very boring and simplistic and couldn’t bring myself to continue. By all accounts, Arc II is a much better game. It was released in Japan on November 1, 1996 but didn’t see a North American release until Working Designs’ Arc the Lad Collection came out in April of 2002.

ark21105a.jpg

Let’s hope that the second time is a charm.

