I’m starting out on Parasite Eve and have finished Day 1.  I’m not sure how many days are in the game but I think there are six.  So far Day 1 was pretty intriguing.

Like a lot of RPG’s, I started Parasite Eve shortly after it came out.  It was a weekend rental and I put maybe 3 hours into it before I had to return it.  I’d liked what I saw and wanted to play some more but never got around to it.  Now, almost 10 years later, I’ve forgotten most of what I played through.

The main character is Aya Brea, a young NYPD cop who goes to the opera with a date and witnesses a singer named Melissa change into…. something called Eve that sets the place on fire along with everyone inside.  Except Aya.  She follows her into the lower levels of the opera house and then eventually into the sewers below.

I'm sorry... Did your breasts just say something?

Along the way she meets up with Eve several times and eve talks about mitochondria revolting against humans and lots of other stuff that makes no sense.  There’s also a creepy little girl that reminds me of F.E.A.R. a bit.

Insert your own joke here

The game seems overflowing with CG cutscenes that are really fascinating.  Most of them have been of creatures mutating prior to a battle and they are pretty grotesque.  The first day ended with a fight against a strange alligator-type creature and the introduction of Aya’s veteran police partner.

So far, it looks like it’s going to be a fun game.  I understand it’s not a very long game but I don’t really mind that.  It’ll be a nice change of pace.

