I ended up shelving Grandia III.  I still have it and I haven’t deleted my saved game but I just can’t make myself play it anymore.  And that’s a shame as I put about 18 hours into it.  It looked great but was pretty generic in most of the ways that matter to me.  Music was forgettable.  Characters were annoying.  The story was predictable.  There were too many cutscenes and they went on and on.  I may pick it back up at some point but it would really just be for completion as opposed to any investment in the story or game itself.

The one thing that kept me going was the great battle system.  I loved the battle system in Grandia 1 and initially I thought that Grandia 3 perfected it.  Aerial combos were especially fun but as the game progressed it seemed like there was a lot more fighting than I remembered in Grandia 1 and the battles themselves seemed to drag on longer than necessary.  I found myself avoiding combat, which was sad for me as I genuinely think the battle system is great but needs some tweaking.

So now I’ve moved on to a couple of different games.  I’m nearing the end of Final Fantasy XII: Revenant Wings for the DS.  I like it but I keep banging my head on one of the latter battles so I may not finish it.  I also started Eternal Sonata for the 360 and love what I’ve played so far.

But my main game right now is Digital Devil Saga 1 for the PS2.  This game is tough, intelligent and lovely to look at.  The story and characters feel much more “adult” than Grandia III and I need that right now.  I’m approaching 20 hours into the game so far and really like it.  It’s the first Shin Megami Tensei game I’ve spent much time with and I have DDS2, Nocturne, Persona 2, 3 and 4 sitting on my shelf for when I’m done.

Now some odd, miscellaneous information.  According to WordPress Stats I’ve had 2, 274 total site views since I started this current incarnation last February.  The number one search that brings people to this site is “Final Fantasy VIII” (or variations in spelling).  The fellow whiny emo-Squall fans resulted in almost 550 different views.  I’m kinda surprised by that.  Actually I’m surprised anyone but me even knows or cares about this site.

Thanks for stopping by and have a great 2009!

